The Old George Pub, Hotel and restaurant, Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes The Old George Inn
01908 562181
The Old George Pub, Hotel and restaurant, Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes
The Old George, Stony Stratford

Reviews from our guestbook

Since 16th Century, The Old George Inn in Stony Stratford has welcomed visitors, diners and those seeking hotel accommodation. And, whilst times and customs have changed, we still believe in quality food, friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

Would you like to add a review?


Reviewed by: Ruth whelan, September 2019.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Excellent food and service

We stayed at sister hotel The Swan.We had evening meal at The Old George which was one of the best pub meals we have had with fresh vegatables not frozen as most places we stayed on after meal did quiz with very friendly locals.We went back to the Swan which we also recommend highly.The following morning we went back to the George for a very good english breakfast served by really lovely friendly member of staff.
Reviewed by: Mr Mrs Wood, July 2019.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
excellent Meal

we had a nice day visiting Stony Stratford. The meal we had at The Old George Inn was excellent very well prepared and presented, the staff and service was very good, will definately return again.
Reviewed by: Diana B, April 2019.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Comfortable stay good value

We stayed for a couple of nights in April to support family nearby and liked it so much we stayed again in May when a funeral took place. We chose room 6, so we had peace and quiet while the live music was on, and good parking The breakfast is amazing, and all in all we felt it was very good value and a nice place to stay. We plan to bring my Dad for a roast lunch some time ...
Reviewed by: Ben, April 2019.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
We got kicked out

We got kicked out of the pub just because our girl was crying after she felt off. The worst place ever !!! If you are looking for a family and friendly place this one is NOT... my little girl of 16 months old felt off and started to cry one of the employees KICKED US OUT!! She never ask how was the little one, that was not important for her, she just want to see us out because the other people were eating !!! It supposed to be a family friendly place, other kids were there and the other people said they understand because they have kids, but definitely doesn’t matter for the employees of the place ! AVOID THIS PLACE unless you want to have negative and horrible experience.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth, January 2019.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
just dreadful

We went for lunch. Food was just horrible. grey potatoes dry burger, inedible tart nothing to commend it at all. Worst of all were the pub staff eating in the public area near us. Their bad language was appalling, but the high point was when another member of staff maintenance I presume came into the restaurant area carrying 2 used toilet seats and had a conversation with the other staff about the replacement of same and the reasons why they needed to be tamper proof.It really wasnt the sort of conversation to have in front of restaurant guests. I think the Management need to consider some immediate training for the staff.
Reviewed by: McIntosh, November 2018.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Lovely Old building.......but

We stayed in room 6 and the mattress was probably as old as the building, the worst mattress we have ever 'tried' to sleep on, the springs were poking through. The whole stay was quite average.
Reviewed by: Jackie, October 2018.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Brilliant

Have dinner here today was amazing will be back with family soon
Reviewed by: Jackie, October 2018.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Brilliant

Have dinner here today was amazing will be back with family soon
Reviewed by: S. Shaughnessy, June 2018.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Noisy and dreadful.

Apart from the loud music resonating through our room until about midnight and the loud chatter from drinkers outside below our room keeping us awake until 2:15am. The cherry on the cake was a woman entering our room using a KEY wineglass in hand at 2:35am just as we were getting to sleep after the last drinker had screeched goodnight below. This was totally unacceptable by any standards. I did not complain at the time as we left early after about 2 hours sleep and there was no management present to complain to. Nor have I had a response to the email I sent a few days ago. We would have been better off sleeping in our car in the public car park.
Reviewed by: Andy Knight, April 2017.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
We really enjoyed it.

We popped in for a light lunch sat in the court yard and really enjoyed our meal. Very good and traditional establishment, we will be BACK sooner rather than later. Thank you.
Reviewed by: Michael, February 2017.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Excellent

Nice hotel short trip from where I was working, great food and amazing customer service. Would definetly recommend.
Reviewed by: charlie, June 2016.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
great staff great banter will revisit soon

me and my wife went for lunch there the service and food was pleasant will be visiting defiantly again soon thanks to the staff and friendly locals
Reviewed by: Colin, January 2015.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Great Live Music .... always

Excellent friendly staff
Reviewed by: kenton, October 2014.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
pleasant staff and very good service


Reviewed by: Bianca, October 2014.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Good value for money

Spent a a couple of nights here with our dog and we all had a comfortable stay. Room was of a high standard breakfast and dinner were excellent as was the service. Only downside was the parking, but only because we had to do 2 trips as we had a lot of baggage - mostly the dog's ! The live shows were good and we did not find it a hindrance when we went back to the room, we could hardly hear the music. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
Reviewed by: jonathan main, January 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
clean friendly,and good value

Excellent but mattresses room 6 need replacing. Car parking extremely limited. Food and friendly service better than hoped for. Stayed 2014, not 2011 as indicated above
Reviewed by: M and c Malia, March 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Excellent

Just the job friendly clean and tidy good food and entertainment the new owners have spent a lot of money time and effort to fetch this historic inn up to scratch highly recommended.
Reviewed by: Brian, December 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
b Very< b> nice place to stay

Had a b great< b> time staying here with my partner.
Reviewed by: Grace Roberts, February 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Very welcoming lovely accommodation.

Only stayed one night but it was a wonderful stay in this charming 16th century inn. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and mine had a lovely old wooden beam right through the centre of the room. We had a gorgeous meal on the Saturday night while enjoying the live music. And a lovely and very filling full English breakfast. The vegetarian options were THE BEST and so was the veggie breakfast. I would definately stay here again and would heartily recommend The Old George.
Reviewed by: Cathy Woodward, February 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
Fab

Spend a night in room 9 nice room clean bright had a really good night sleep really love the place
Reviewed by: jayne, December 2011.    Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5Star rating out of 5
lovely place to stay

we only stayed one night but will definately stay again.The food was excellent both the evening meal in the bar and breakfast.We had a room at the rear of the pub,with its own front door which was warm and clean and everyone made us feel welcome including the people in the pub .
To read more comments, please follow these links that open on a new page...
www.tripadvisor.com  and www.laterooms.com

The Old George Inn, Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes
The Riverside Walk in Stony Stratford
The Old George Inn, 41 High Street, Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes, Bucks. MK11 1AA. Company No: OC361939, VAT Reg: 107338038